“Whatever falls on the floor is mine.”

My grandfather and I were never too close. He had been slowly getting more and more sick. The doctors had diagnosed him with COPD. This past Christmas my mom and I went to my grandparents house so I could see them for Christmas. You could tell he wasn’t going to live much longer.

One day about two or three months ago.. I was sitting at Adams when my cousin texted me and told me to call my grandmother. I did and found out that my grandfather had passed away. Adam came downstairs to his room and just sat with me and hugged me. I haven’t cried. Not even today as we were all standing at the grave for his funeral. I met some of his friends and saw some of my family that I haven’t seen in years.

It was like a movie. Everyone’s heads lowered as the priest spoke his words. The wind blowing like crazy while everyone is shivering with tears rolling down their cheeks. With my arms crossed, no emotion on my face, staring at the priest.. actually listening to his words.

After the funeral we all went to the church and had lunch. It was nice. I’ll miss him.

My phone broke at the funeral for some reason so I’m waiting for my mom to pick me up so we can go see if there is an upgrade to use. Then I’m just hanging out all day until Adam gets off work. He was going to come over last night but he just ended up going home because he’s been feeling weak and sick lately. So tonight he’s going to pick me up and I’ll get to go to his house for a few days which will be nice. I don’t work until Monday at noon. I’m happy I get to see him tonight, I’ve missed him. The last time I saw him was Thursday at 7:00 am when he dropped me off at work and its now Saturday at 1:30 pm. So its been a little bit of time.

Peace for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

